Useful Links

Useful Links

Ravenstone Primary School

School governors


The governors of the school are people drawn from the local community and others interested in the school.

They are elected by parents and the staff, co-opted or appointed by the local authority.

Governors are expected to contribute to the work of the board of governors in ensuring high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school by:

  • setting the school's vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

There are full governors' meetings twice a term, where the headteacher reports on all the school's aims/activities. Policy initiatives from the local education authority, school resources, health and safety etc. are also discussed.

At Ravenstone there are three sub-committees, which also meet on a termly basis, and which cover the curriculum, finance, premises, staffing and the community.

You will find more information from the National Governors' Association by clicking the link.

Appointing Body 

For each role on the board of governors there is an appointing body.

These are as follows:

  • Parent governors are elected by other parents or appointed if not enough parents stand for election.
  • Staff governors are elected by the school staff.
  • The headteacher is a member of the governing body by virtue of their office.
  • Local authority governors are nominated by the local authority but appointed by the governing body.
  • Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body. They are people who in the opinion of the governing body have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.
  • Associate members are appointed by the governing body to serve on one or more governing body committee. They may also attend full governing body meetings. and therefore don't have a vote in decisions made during full Board meetings.  However, they do have voting rights on sub-committees.  They are appointed because of specific expertise and experience they can contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

Governors are required to declare any register of interest, at this time no Governors have registered a relevant business interest or a relationship with a member of staff at the school. 

Please click the link to the Register of Business Interests.

Register of Business Interests

We are also required to publish the terms of office for each governor.

Please click the link to a PDF of the current board's terms of office and membership information.


Click on the names to read about them.

Designated Governors

Co-chairs: Andrew Cox and Rebecca Huggins

Parent governors:  Becky Hutt, Holly Crane

Local Authority Governor: Andrew Cox

Co-opted Governors:  Mark Horley, Sue Pidgeon, Rebecca Huggins, Meghna Vyas, Alex Richardson, Emma Hubball, Caroline Hegan,

Staff Governor: Simon Lewis

Associate Members: Monika Wilson, Dominic Kyndt

Headteacher: Joe Croft


Curriculum and Achievement: Mark Horley (chair), Rebecca Huggins, Andrew Cox, Sue Pidgeon, Emma Hubball, Becky Hutt, Simon Lewis, Joe Croft, Holly Crane

Resources: Andrew Cox (co-chair), Alex Richardson (co-chair), Meghna Vyas, Rebecca Huggins, Sue Pidgeon, Mark Horley,  Dominic Kyndt, Joe Croft

Children, Families and Community: Becky Hutt (chair), Sue Pidgeon, Meghna Vyas, Monika Wilson, Joe Croft, Dominic Kyndt, Holly Crane

All governors may be contacted via the school office: